Rotary Club of Calne Doubles Its Membership

The Rotary Club of Calne is leading the way in our District by inducting a further 3 Associate members, Tanya Herbert, Tracy Howell and Christine Cooper doubling the Club’s membership in less than 6 weeks. All of the new members are prominent people serving the local community and will bring new initiatives to the Club.

Calne Rotary

L to R = Tanya Herbert, Joint President Alastair Muir, Tracy Howell, Terry Bate District Marketing Officer, Christine Cooper

As Chair of the Marketing, PR and Communications Committee, I was thrilled to be invited to induct the new Associates and welcome them into the Rotary family. The Club meets at the White Hart Hotel Calne, in the atmospheric, newly refurbished Medieval room. It was a very happy evening, everyone was relaxed and Rotary’s newest Associates in the world, were proud to wear their badges. This was my first sight of the Associates badge – an attractive red.

Having experienced it first hand, I am convinced that opening our doors to Associate members is a recipe for success. I was bowled over by the enthusiasm of these three young women – I had assumed they had been coming along to meetings for a while and was surprised to find they had all decided to step up to becoming Associates after only a few weeks. Already they are playing a full part in the club’s activities – while I was there, final plans were being made for the town’s Food and Drink Festival.

I commend Calne on all that they are doing – the club has attracted just the sort of people and age profile that we so desperately need. I had a wonderful evening – I still have a smile on my face – and when it was time to leave, Tanya, Tracy and Christine all thanked me warmly and gave me a big hug. I made them promise to invite me back when they became full members.

If you want to know more about Calne’s Associates initiative, please contact Rotarian Ivor Watkins 01249 813168.

Submitted by Terry Bate – Chair Marketing, PR and Communications

One response

  1. Well done Calne. Having met the five associates who joined a month ago I know what super additions they are to the Rotary family and I too was bowled over by their enthusiasm and energy. I’ll be back when they become full Rotarians and I don’t think that will be long delayed.
    Bob
    DG
    D1200

    Like

Leave a Reply

